National Assembly gets a substantive Clerk

The acting clerk of the National Assembly, Ojo Amos Olatunde has been confirmed as the substantive clerk by the National Assembly Service Commission.

Olatunde was appointed as acting clerk in July 2020 after the commission directed staff who have attained the age of 60 or 35 years in service to proceed on compulsory retirement.

NASC Chairman, Ahmed Amshi in a statement released on Friday October 3, revealed that Mr Olatunde was confirmed at a meeting held on Wednesday September 30. He further revealed that Bala Yabani has been confirmed as the deputy clerk of the National Assembly.  Ibrahim El-Ladan has also been confirmed as Senate clerk, while Francis Akubueze has been confirmed as clerk of the House of Representatives.

Amshi said; 

“The National Assembly Service Commission at its 506th Meeting held on Wednesday 30th September, 2020, approved the confirmation of appointments of top management staff of the national assembly service with effect from 30th September, 2020.

“The commission had on 17th and 20th July 2020, appointed Mr. Ojo and the other management staff to their different positions on acting capacity.”