INEC declares Nasarawa incumbent Gov., Sule, winner of guber polls

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared incumbent Governor Abdullahi Sule as the winner of the Governorship polls held on Saturday, 18th March, in the Nasarawa State.

According to the commissions official record, Governor Sule scored the highest votes in the election.

Sule, a candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), is seeking re-election for a second office term. Record has it that he secured 347,209 votes in the Governorship contest as against David Ombugadu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), his biggest contender, who gathered 283,016 votes. Sule’s votes also superseded by far Abdullahi Maidoya of the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP), who scored 11,726 votes.

The election results were collated and announced in Lafia on the following Monday being 20th March, by the INEC’s Returning Officer in Nasarawa State, Prof. Ishaya Tanko.

Tanko, who is also the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Jos, Plateau State, added that the Social Democratic Party (SDP) candidate, Mohammed Mustapha, scored 9,003 votes. Tanko further narrated the total number of registered voters in the state, being 1,899,244.

According to Prof. Tanko, the accredited voters in the state were 668,978 but the total votes cast were 660,805 while the rejected votes were 6,934.

“Having satisfied the requirements and having received the total votes of 347,209 by the APC with the candidate, Sule Audu, is hereby returned and declared the winner of the governorship election in Nasarawa State,” Tanko said.