Video: Gunshots at Imo Assembly as Speaker suspends Uche Ogbuagu, 5 others

Crisis rocked the Imo State House of Assembly today, Thursday, July 8 after the Speaker of House, announced the suspension of six lawmakers, including popular entertainer cum lawmaker, Uche Ogbuagu.

The six suspended lawmakers include Hon. Uche Ogbuagu (Ikeduru), Hon. Anyadike (Ezinihitte), Hon. Ezerioha Dominic (Oru West), Hon. Philip Ejiogu (Ideato North), Hon. Micheal Onyemaechi (Ihitte Uboma) and Hon. Kennedy Ibe (Obowo).

The Speaker also dissolved all standing committees and announced that Hon. Barr. Obinna Okwara representing Nkwerre State Constituency is now the Chief Whip of the House, replacing Rt Hon Arthur Egwim.

The announcement throw the Assembly into a rowdy session as fight erupted. Members threw punches at each before the gunshots started.

Watch video from the rowdy session below.